Jefferson Innovation Summit :: 2011


A Drafting Committee of seven Delegates with support from the Batten Institute proposes the following declaration based on the ideas generated during the Jefferson Innovation Summit :: 2011:


We hold these truths to be self-evident that a flourishing society empowers its people to innovate and create, providing the freedom to bring forth ideas in the pursuit of economic and social well-being. Our nation, built upon an unyielding entrepreneurial spirit, has risen to greatness with these essential truths as a foundation. Yet, whenever policies or institutions – both public and private – fall short in these ends then we bear a responsibility to remedy these shortcomings, thereby reinvigorating our society and ensuring no spurious limits on the inventiveness of humankind.

Guided by these principles, we declare that an innovative and entrepreneurial society shall be established and affirmed upon the following foundations:

  • Comprehensive educational system that develops and inspires all people to be curious and creative leaders by providing experiential learning opportunities and exposure to imaginative and entrepreneurial role models.

  • Entrepreneurial culture that inspires and empowers communities and individuals to embrace, nurture, and celebrate innovators and entrepreneurs.

  • Collaborative public and private financial institutions that promote appropriate investment in innovative research, entrepreneurial startups, and social enterprises.

  • Progressive immigration policies that attract and retain the best talent in the world and encourage them to work for local businesses and launch their own ventures.

  • Coherent tax structure that encourages investors, managers, entrepreneurs and inventors to allocate greater risk capital to research, development, and new venture creation.

  • Nimble and professionalized regulatory system that simplifies and harmonizes regulation across nations, states, regions, and municipalities enabling productive and progressive risk taking.

  • Modernized intellectual property laws that reflect the realities of the post-industrial age in order to improve collaborative efficiency and better incentivize the co-creation of new ideas, technologies, and ventures.

We declare our intent to honor and support these core principles and to work toward creating and sustaining a flourishing American society of entrepreneurs and innovators.

Download a PDF

Declaration Signatories

John Abele*
Boston Scientific, Co-Founder
Frank Batten, Jr.
Landmark Media Enterprises, CEO & Chairman
Dan Bierenbaum*
Batten Institute, Senior Research Associate
Leslie Greene Bowman
Thomas Jefferson Foundation, President
Lyons Brown
Altamar Brands, Founder & CEO
Robert Bruner
Darden School of Business, Dean
Robin Fray Carey
Social Media Today, CEO
Sean Carr*
Batten Institute, Director, Intellectual Capital
and Research
Scott Case*
Startup America Partnership, CEO
John Casteen
University of Virginia, Professor & President Emeritus
Mark Crowell
University of Virginia, Executive Director for Innovation
Partnerships & Commercialization
Bill Davidow*
Mohr Davidow Ventures, Partner Emeritus
Trip Davis
TRX, Co-Founder & former CEO
Darden School Foundation, President
Allison Cryor DiNardo
King Street Wireless, President
John Elstrott
Levy-Rosenblum Institute for Entrepreneurship,
Executive Director
Ntiedo Etuk*
DimensionU, Co-Founder & CEO
Frank Genovese
The Rothbury Corporation, President
Linda Goldstein
Original Artists, President & CEO
William Hawkins*
Medtronic, Former Chairman & CEO
Ed Hess
Darden School of Business, Batten
Pam Iorio*
Tampa, Florida, Former Mayor
Donald King
Deutsche Asset Management, Vice Chairman
Michael Lenox*
Batten Institute, Associate Dean and Executive Director
Robert Litan
Kauffman Foundation, VP for Research and Policy
Brookings Institution, Senior Fellow
Gene Lockhart
Berenson & Company, Senior Advisor
William McDonough
McDonough Advisors, Chairman
Sonja Hoel Perkins
Menlo Ventures, Managing Partner
Daniel Pink
Author, Drive & A Whole New Mind
Harry Rein
Foundation Medical Partners, General Partner
John Rogers, Jr.
Local Motors, CEO & Co-Founder
Saras Sarasvathy
Darden School of Business, Associate Professor
Jigar Shah*
The Carbon War Room, CEO
Thomas Skalak
University of Virginia, VP for Research
Brian Trelstad
Acumen Fund, Chief Investment Officer
Mary Tripsas
Harvard Business School, Associate Professor
Roger Werner
Speedvision and OLN Networks, Former CEO
Albe Zakes
Terracycle, Inc, Global VP

* denotes members of the Drafting Committee
Robin Fray Carey Jigar Shah Bill Davidow Aaron Chatterji